This past week at Central Washington University the Bateman case study team held a mental health awareness week. As this is my first year at this university, seeing that mental health is a priority to the students and staff it makes me even more proud to be a wildcat. I chose to go to the event held on Thursday in the SURC pit called Feel Good. During this event, there was a large board that students and passers by could write on. People were encouraged to write what they do to take care of their bodies, both physically and mentally. mharibbons1

I was poorly educated on mental health throughout high school. During the awareness week, I learned small tips to maintain my mental health, which I never got before. The Bateman team did a really great job making learning about a rough subject fun! They were very welcoming to talk to people and listen to what they had to say. Mental health is not just getting enough sleep but making sure you are generally happy with your life. It was great to hear other students share what they do to keep themselves healthy. Whether it was taking a shower, or a nap, everyone has their own way of decompressing after a stressful day or week. screen-shot-2016-02-08-at-3-49-19-pm-1024x686

When I see students writing things on the board, that I myself do to compress, made me feel more connected to them and the school. The Bateman team did an awesome job, though it may not have been their intent, creating a bond with all the students that were participating. It was a great experience!

 

xoxo,

Personally Peterson

